Character Creator’s Log – Cottleston Pie –

Today, we’re going to review our homework from last ‘week’.

No worries, you don’t have to show your work unless you want to.
Honesty’s much harder when you’re forced to share and the goal here above all else, is honesty. Because if you can’t be fully honest with yourself about your limitations…
Well… That’s going to be a trouble.

But all those pointless questions? What were they for?
If it helps, think of them like a personality litmus test.
It provides a basis for your reaction to ____conditions.
After you answered several, you might have noticed a reoccurring answer.
Or you might have noticed a severe lack of cohesion.
The latter means your reactions are more mailable and dependent/reliant on mitigating factors.

Instances of the former however, are what we’re currently looking for…
My constant: What this list tells me about myself for instance, is that I’m a talker. I talk when I’m nervous, I talk when I’m pissed, I try to trick-talk people into paying mind to the random string of words coming out of my mouth on the off chance that they find me interesting enough to keep around, or at least more amusing alive then dead.  I WILL talk until my tongue is numb, my lips sag and my head falls off.  Even then, you’d have to bury it in the sand, far away from the rest of my body…

I think you get the picture.

So. Now knowing that, we can more then assume that it would be a terrible idea for me to try and create a long standing character who is mute or non-gregarious.

There are other things of course that this list doesn’t tell us. Things like your own physical limits. But those are either already known to you or will become readily apparent as you sort out your game. Luckily, unlike ‘unrepairable’ personality constants, most of those can be worked on and improved with time.

This run down merely marks out our personality head shot.  Something that we can reference when creating a character, so that we don’t cast so far from type that the you that is always you, can be seen wiggling in irritation inside the character you’re trying to portray. Because in larp, there are no second takes.

3 responses to “Character Creator’s Log – Cottleston Pie –

  1. Pingback: Character Creator’s Log -StarDate- | The Last Bargain

  2. Pingback: Character Creator’s Log -Creation Blueprint- | The Last Bargain

  3. Pingback: Character Creator’s Log – Creation Casting – | The Last Bargain

Chime in!

